The best little movie house in Maine.

207-633-0438 |


Harbor Theater is a 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization founded in 2017 to sustain and perpetuate motion pictures in the Boothbay Region. Harbor Theater’s program includes first-run releases, art and independent films, festival winners and classic revivals, plus live “Meet the Director/Film Maker/Producer” Q&A sessions. Harbor Theater is the only non-profit, independent cinema on the Boothbay peninsula.


In 1932, Boothbay Harbor’s first cinema, The Strand Theater, was built on property next to what is now the Opera House on Townsend Avenue. It was destroyed in a fire in 1982. After that, Harbor Lights Cinema operated a summer theater in the Meadow Mall from 1985 to 2002. Jason Sheckley bought that entity and operated it year-round as the Harbor Theatre from 2002 to 2017, when a non-profit organization, Friends of the Harbor Theater, bought him out.

The non-profit Harbor Theater, with a community-based board of directors, continues to show first-run films, but added art and independent films, documentaries, and special events such as Meet the Director nights and educational and cultural events sponsored by local groups.

The theater was closed from March 2020 to October 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, however, generous community support kept the theater going during that time. In the summer of 2020 and 2021 Harbor Theater ran drive-in movies in the mall parking lot and at neighboring hotels. More than 250 people enjoyed each of the six free outdoor shows during those two years.

The theater was renovated in the summer of 2021 with all-new paint, a new concession area, new acoustical tiles in the auditorium and a new laser projector. Community foundations and private donors funded these projects.

As a tax-exempt non-profit, the Harbor Theater relies on community support for almost 50% of its budget. All donations are tax deductible within the law. Please consider joining as a member or making a donation by going to SUPPORT US on this website.


Board of Directors

Hamilton Meserve, President
Bob Reiser, Vice-President
Jeff Long, Treasurer
Marion Coleman, Secretary
Kate Borsig
Patricia Colhoun
Bruce Harris
Elizabeth Hastings
Scott Larson
Kim Martin
Helen Meserve
Michael Tomko

Advisory Board

Robert Devine
Douglas Goldhirsch
Andy Hamblett
Steve Malcom
Penny Pollard
Mike Pollard


Lynn Thompson, Theater Manager
Joe St. George, Concessions Manager
Lisa Perry, Program Manager
Jeniffer Cooley, Marketing and Publicity Manager
John Roberts, Technical Manager
Michael Reynolds, Projectionist
Robert Jordan, Tech Advisor